The nomination period for 2018 AAHGS Awards is closed. 

Award winners will be announced during the 2018 Annual Conference in Philadelphia, PA.


The purpose of the National Awards Program is to recognize individuals, groups, or organizations who have made a significant contribution in furtherance of the AAHGS mission to preserve African-ancestored family history, genealogy, and cultural diversity. Only financial members of AAHGS may submit nominations. All nominations must be documented on the AAHGS Awards Nomination Form and submitted via email to the Awards Committee Co-Chairpersons..

Information regarding awards will be provided periodically prior to the deadline. For detailed information regarding the Awards Program, please click on each of the following links:

2018 Awards Criteria

2018 Awards Process

The AAHGS Awards are presented each year at the Annual Conference.

2017 Award Winner

Paul Edward Sluby, Sr./Jean Sampson-Scott Award-Robyn N. Smith

2016 Award Winners

James Dent Walker Award- Lonnie G. Bunch, III

Paul Edward Sluby, Sr./Jean Sampson-Scott Award-Melvin J. Collier

Elizabeth Clark-Lewis, Genealogy Award-Ric Murphy and Jerome Spears

Marsha M. Greenlee History Award- Margo Lee Williams

Chapter of the Year Award-Prince George’s County of Maryland AAHGS Chapter

Certificate of Appreciation-Robert L. Wimberly, Sr.

On-the-Spot Award- Clifford Winbush

See Previous Award Winners